Skip to main content

New board installed, awards given by Spanish Fork Chamber

Feb 06, 2016 10:50AM
Approximately 130 members and guests of the Spanish Fork Salem Area Chamber of Commerce gathered at the Chillon Reception Center in Spanish Fork on Jan. 22 to celebrate the installation of the chamber’s new 2016 executive board of directors and recognize those receiving awards for their past achievements in commerce and citizenship.

Lance Wilson of State Farm was installed as the 2016 chamber president. Todd Dickerson of Dickerson Auto was installed as the 2016 vice president and Stacy Beck of Utah Valley Magazine became the 2016 Past President. During the evening, it was reported by Beck that at the beginning of 2015, there were 170 chamber members; at the beginning of 2016, the chamber has grown to 240 members.

Susan S. Barber was given the 2015 Community Action Award. Barber recently completed the book “SF. I Love This Town” after being tasked to write it by the mayor and city council.

Kevin Dunn, owner of Big O Tire in Spanish Fork and Payson, was given the 2015 Business of the Year Award for his store on Spanish Fork’s Main Street, which serves 15,000 customers a year.

Vern Tanner, founder of Triple T Heating and Air, was presented with the Spanish Fork Mayor’s Award by Mayor Steve Leifson. Triple T began in the founder’s garage approximately 40 years ago. It has since grown and is now housed on North Main in Spanish Fork. The business recently expanded to St. George.

Dawn Davis of Payson’s Gunnerson Dental, a member of the chamber, was named the 2015 Business Person of the Year. Davis coordinates the chamber’s Play Unplugged program.

Danny Higginson was given the 2015 Salem City Mayor’s Award by Mayor Randy Brailsford. Matt Barber of Western States Insurance and Cary and Judy Robarge of Robarge Collision were selected by Nebo School District to receive the 2015 Business Education Partnership Award. The two businesses annually coordinate the restoration of a vehicle that is then given to a needy family within Nebo School District.

Stacy Beck, who was recently elected as a Spanish Fork city councilwoman, was presented the 2015 Total Citizen Award. Lance Wilson of State Farm was given the 2015 Chamber President’s Award.

Steve Money, director of the Spanish Fork City Fairgrounds, was awarded the 2015 Chamber Executive Director’s Award for his work in making Spanish Fork’s Fiesta Days Rodeo one of the top 10 in the United States.