Duke's Jewelers celebrates 70 years in business
Dec 05, 2018 05:30PM
In September of 1948, J. Melvin and Mary Duke opened Duke’s Jewelers on Main Street in Springville. Mel had been trained as a watchmaker during World War II and after working for several jewelers, he and Mary decided to open their own store in Springville, which they were drawn to because of its charm and friendliness.
Their original location was small and was where the snack bar of the Rivoli Theater is today. Duke’s moved down the street to their current location in the early 1960s. At the age of ten, Holmes began cleaning the store, doing odd jobs and learning watchmaking from his grandfather.
Duke’s is an asset to the community because they have become well-known for their expert, personalized service. Holmes is not only a jeweler and a goldsmith, but he’s also a certified gemologist, so he is able to identify and appraise gems. Instead of shipping your precious pieces of jewelry to a trade shop across the country, like many jewelry stores do, Holmes and his team of eight employees can repair and create right here in-store.
Visit them at 220 South Main Street or at dukesjewelers.com.